What Is A Certified Welder

What Is A Certified Welder - Welder certification is based upon specially-designed tests that test the welder's ability and skill to apply a sound weld on metal.

The major element of the welder's examination involves welding several test vouchers, which is then evaluated by using destructive and non-destructive methods.

The degree of certification can be determined by a range of factors, including the welding method used and the type of metal deposited the size of the joint, design, location and backing, among others.

What Is A Certified Welder

Most of the time the test is performed according to a specific code.

Based on the specifications of the product, the test could be conducted under the supervision of a global or national group, like that of the American Welding Society (AWS) or American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) However, manufacturers can set their specifications and standards also.

The majority of certifications expire after a specific time period and may have different conditions for renewal or renewal of the certificate.

In the USA Welder certification is conducted in accordance with AWS D1.1, 1 ASME Section IX 2 in addition to API 1104 standards which are also utilized in other countries.

Certain States possess the option of having their own Welder Qualifications which overrule AWS Qualifications however, the majority depend on AWS, ASME or API.

In Canada the process of certifying welders is conducted following CSA Standards and ASME. 2 The ASME code is usually utilized to qualify pressure vessels and pipe applications.

CSA Standards are used for general manufacturing, structural and non-pressure-related applications. There are three major CSA Standards to which welders can be certified: CSA W47.1 for steels (including stainless steels), CSA W47.2[5] for aluminum and CSA W186 6for reinforcing bar.

According to the CSA norms, welding qualifications testing is conducted every two year by Canadian Welding Bureau to ensure continuous competence.

In Europe the European Committee for Standardization (CEN) has adopted the ISO standards for welding qualification (ISO 9606), 7replacing the older European EN 287 series.

Welders who operate robotic welding machines are certified in accordance with EN 1418. 9.

In Europe welding professionals are typically certified by third-party certification bodies for personnel, such as The Welding Institute (TWI/CSWIP).

Welders engaged in the manufacturing of equipment that is within the definitions of the Pressure Equipment Directive must be certified by a qualified third party that could be a notified body or a third-party organisation that is recognized by a Member State.

If a welder is able to pass the test (or several tests) and their employer or a third party will verify that they have passed the test, as well as the limits or extent to which they are certified to weld as a written statement (welder qualification test report, called WQTR).

Usually, this document can only be used for a specified time (usually 2 years) following which the welder has to be tested again.

Some Qualifications are valid for one project, while some are not limited as they do not exceed a specific amount of time without performing the specific kind of welding (this period typically is six months).

Welders are required to keep a log to show they have maintained their qualifications.

Welding inspector's certification

In addition to operating welding machinery, there are methods for independently certifying welding inspections and other related specific areas.

The duties of a welding inspector are defined in ISO 14731 the requirements for inspector certification is not standardised, and there are different requirements among the different plans.

The most notable schemes developed by the personnel certification bodies include that of American Welding Society, of the British Institute of Non-Destructive Testing (PCN) and from The Welding Institute (CSWIP) and of the Canadian Welding Bureau (CSA W178.2).

The American Welding Society offers the following programs:

  • Certified Associate Welding Inspector
  • Certified Welding Inspector
  • Senior Certified Welding Inspector
  • Certified Radiographic Interpreter

The British Institute of Non-Destructive Testing provides three levels of certification:

  • PCN Level 1
  • PCN Level 2 Weld Inspection
  • PCN Level 3 Welding Radiographic Interpretation and Inspection

The Welding Institute (TWI) located in the United Kingdom offers the following accreditation scheme: 

  • CSWIP 3.0 (Level 1): Visual Welding Inspector
  • CSWIP 3.1 (Level 2): Welding Inspector
  • CSWIP 3.2 (Level 3): Senior Welding Inspector, whether or not radiographic interpreter (3.2.1 3.2.1 or 3.2.2 respectively)

The Canadian Welding Bureau offers the following programs:

  • Level 1 Certified Welding Inspector
  • Level 2 Certified Welding Inspector
  • Level 3 Certified Welding Inspector

The BINDT/PCN and the TWI/CSWIP schemes are recognized through UKAS as ISO/IEC 17024 certified. There are numerous other general schemes, aswell in sector-specific schemes.

In 2008 in 2008, in 2008, the American Petroleum Institute introduced the API 577 Advanced Welding Inspection and Metallurgy programme for certification.

Certification is granted following success of a multiple option exam built on the documentation for practice API 577.

The certification identifies the applicant as a "Welding Inspection as well as Metallurgy Professional' in contrast to an approved welding inspector in different programs.

Iklan Atas Artikel

Iklan Tengah Artikel 1

Iklan Tengah Artikel 2

Iklan Bawah Artikel